Eight Venezuelan opposition leaders banned from leaving the country

A criminal court in Valencia, Carabobo state issued a precautionary measure to the director of Venezuela's Administrative System on Migration and Foreigners on 20 October 2016 banning eight opposition leaders from leaving the country. The politicians belong to the opposition coalition Democratic Unity Roundtable (MUD), and include MUD General Secretary Jesús Torrealba, Ramón José Medina, José Luis Cartaya, Oscar Barreto, Ricardo Sucre, Luis Aparicio, Arnaldo Gabaldón, and Henrique Capriles Rondonski (Tal Cual). The court order did not cite a reason for preventing the politicians from leaving Venezuela (Globovisión).